The Waiting Place is a collaborative project and group exhibition curated by Ann-Marie James and Emily Godden. It combines mail art, a physical exhibition at The Art Station, an Instagram account and a virtual exhibition in a unique online environment.

It is a project about waiting, made during a global pandemic, at a time when we are all collectively waiting in so many ways. Waiting for things to get back to normal, for things to change completely, waiting for a cure, waiting to get sick, waiting to get better. Waiting for news from loved ones, and news from government. Waiting for test results, waiting to find work, and waiting in particularly long socially distanced queues at the supermarket.

A large group of artists and creative practitioners were each sent a letter of invitation to take part. Every contributor was provided with a postcard and on the back was an extract from a children’s book called Oh, the Places You’ll Go! by Dr Seuss. It describes the journey of life, and was the last book published by Dr Seuss during his lifetime.

Physical Exhibition

The Waiting Place physical exhibition in The Art Station lobby shows all the physical and moving image works, sculpture and a new site-specific installation  by Fiona Grady on The Art Station doors.

It is is open 12-7pm on Wednesdays and 12-5pm on Saturdays, or by appointment from Wednesday 19 May until Saturday 12 June 2021.

Entrance is free and via bookable tickets online. Bookings are limited to groups of 6 due to current Cover-19 restrictions.

Virtual Exhibition

Explore the wondrous virtual world of The Waiting Room virtual exhibition in which you can discover over 80 artworks in an exhibition unlike any other. Explore works that defy gravity and surround you in the disco-room, rooftop garden, monochrome room and majestic staircase.

Before you visit the virtual exhibition, here are some instructions on how to navigate through the space: Video Guide  and a guide to Location of the Artists’ Work in the Virtual Space

The virtual exhibition works best on a desktop or laptop with Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge as a browser.


Contributions from: Henny Acloque, Bench Allen, Eilidh Allen, Ralph Anderson , Nigel Ball, Helen Barff, SE Barnet, Jordan Baseman, Katriona Beales, Jacq Bebb, Emilia Bergmark , Francesca Blomfield, Carla Borel, Matt Bowman, Sarah Bradley, Elinor Brass, Adam Bridgland, Elaine Brown, Rebecca Byrne, Perienne Christian, Veronique Christie, Max Clements, Lucienne Cole, Ham Darroch , Karen David, Jeff Dennis, Lauren Doughty, Annabel Dover, Sean Edwards, Liz Elton, Geraint Evans, Hannah Farthing, Dorothy Feaver, Stephen Feeke, Louise Fitzjohn & Liminal Gallery, Edwina Fitzpatrick, Nina Mae Fowler, Ryan Gander, Genevieve Gaunt, Tom Gidley, Mike Goddard, Emily Godden, Katie Goodwin, Alastair Gordon, Fiona Grady, Rahila Gupta, Isobella Hall, Rachael House, Hannah Hughes, Rowena Hughes, Ann-Marie James, Callum John, James Kessell, Paul Kindersley, William Kingett, Sharon Kivland, Sarah Kogan, Abigail Lane, Lana Locke, Anna Mac, Alexander Massouras, Justine Moss, Julia Muggenburg, Andrew Nairne, Clare Palmier, Elizabeth Pawle, Alex Pearl, Charley Peters, Naomi Polonsky, Katie Pratt, Phoebe Pryor, Emilie Pugh, Emily Richardson, Philippa Robilliard, Carl Rowe, Tim A Shaw, Michaela Shorb, Hannah Stageman, Holly Stevenson, Srin Surti, Adam Thompson, Maria Thurn Und Taxis, Elgin Thwaites, Cassie Vaughan, Marius Von Brasch, Arimathea Warren, Jane Watt, Emily Webb, Mathew Weir, Alice Wilson, Jess Wilson, Sarah Kate Wilson, Calvin Winner, Alison Wilding, Robyn Woolston.

The Waiting Place project is supported by Arts Council England.